Vibrant, Rootsy, and Vivid, Damn Tall Buildings Release ‘Sleeping Dogs’ 1st Single – Out 9/9

American acoustic trio nourished by bluegrass, roots rock, old time and vintage swing, tall buildings are delighted to release their 3rd album, sleeping dogsSeptember 9. Whether they’re sharing lead vocals and instrumental solos or blending their voices in loose, joyful harmony, the three members of Damn Tall Buildings – multi-instrumentalist and lead lyricist Max Capistran (guitar and banjo), bassist Sasha Dubyk and fiddler Avery Ballotta—the pleasure of hosting.

Witty and engaging, the energizing music of Damn Tall Buildings finds beauty and glory in the daily struggle of everyday life: time passes and the seasons come and go, you scroll too much, you smoke too much, you get lost, only to sit with yourself and find yourself, you laugh with your friends, and you look out the window and dream of what else might be out there. Everything keeps coming. You carry on, determined to flourish and prosper. That’s what Damn Tall Buildings sings about, what they seek to share with their audience.

Sleeping Dogs is a bop about facing the facts and is basically about how it’s become nearly impossible not to be constantly influenced by the news, the media, and all the other things around you. your daily life.

Sleeping Dogs’ opener, “What A Nice Life,” has a little extra pep to balance out the darker lyrics of “I-don’t-know-who-I-am-anymore”: “And I feel very lonely now that winter is coming on… I don’t know who I’ve been lately… But shit can barely stand me The old days, swingin’ “Dark Window Panes” (which adds Garrett Eaton [Dana Williams, Gracie and Rachel] on trumpet) and “Podcast” see the band pondering an impending apocalypse.

The “velvety and rejuvenating”cold rain” is the first single from the album, and was created by AmericanaUK who call it, “music that is decidedly from now.” For the song, they are joined by mandolin wizard Dylan McCarthy (Champion Rockygrass Mandolin 2019) and rock-steady drummer Micah Cowher. [STOMP in NYC]. Micah also sets the pace for the catchy “Sweet Girl,” with its chorus, “I’m not myself, I’m everyone,” which has become what the band calls, “the record’s motto; C is basically our new anthem.

Damn Tall Buildings calls Sleeping Dogs, “an exploration deep within to discover who we really are… maybe it’s as simple as buying new shoes and feeling really good wearing them, as you walk down the block on the sunny side of the street. You can hear that joyous feeling resonating in the deep groove and colorful melodies of “Lemons”, in which Anh Phung’s virtuoso flute playing [Twisted Pine] elevates the song to a new level. This fresh energy can also be felt when the sun creeps over “Patio”.

The mid-tempo “Painter” shuffle illustrates a re-emergence in the world; with Lars Thorson [Kane Brown] bringing the magic of lap steel to this track. They slow things down a bit in a rainy ode to expectation, “Quietly Heartbreaking” and the sweet “My Baby.”

The album ends with the title track, “Sleeping Dogs”, taken from the old proverb – “Don’t let sleeping dogs lie” – the song emphasizes the theme of the album: don’t ignore life, get out and live it, have fun and make sense of the little things that keep us all connected and growing.

Self-produced and recorded, the album was mixed and mastered by Dan Cardinal [Darlingside, Lula Wiles, Josh Ritter] at Dimension Sound Studios. Dan also played keyboards on the title track, adding to the song’s texture.

The trio come individually from all over the United States (New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, Montana), but were born as a band while attending Berklee College of Music in Boston, MA in 2013. They started as buskers on Newbury Street in Boston, began touring nationally, then moved the band to Brooklyn in 2017. Since being on the streets, they’ve released two albums – Cure-All (2014) and Don’t Look Down (2019) – and released a self-titled EP in 2015.

Sleeping Dogs track listing:
1.) What a Beautiful Life 3:02^
2.) Dark windows 1:56
3.) Podcast 3:40
4.) Cold rain 3:31^
5.) Lemons 2:36
6.) My baby 4:19
7.) Terrace 2:25
8.) Painter 2:27
9.) Quietly Heartbreaking 3:40
10.) Sweet girl 2:56
11.) Sleeping dogs 2:58
^ FCC Warning